Women lead the way at Faculty awards

10 Nov 2015
Award winners with Associate Dean Sarah Roberts-Thomson (far left) and Executive Dean Professor Bruce Abernethy (centre)

On the same week that jockey Michelle Payne rode to a Melbourne Cup win, females also cracked the whip in the Faculty of Health and Behavioural Sciences Teaching and Learning Awards.

Dr Nerina ScarinciDr Stacey ParkerProfessor Elizabeth WardMs Chantelle Baguley and Ms Jemma Venables won all five awards presented by Faculty Executive Dean Professor Bruce Abernethy.

“The event was to recognise the excellent teachers we have in our Faculty and the enthusiasm and inspiration they bring to educating others,” Professor Abernethy said.

Dr Scarinci was the first to take to the stage, winning the Award for Teaching Excellence.

The School of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences researcher was commended for challenging students to think deeply about concepts underpinning speech, language and hearing disorders.

Directly following, Dr Parker from the School of Psychology was awarded for Early Career Citations for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning.

Her use of innovative assessment and feedback, designed to enhance students’ ability to solve real world problems, was acknowledged as a strength.

Professor Ward of the School of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences was then called upon to receive the Teaching Award for Research Focused Staff.

Again, innovation in teaching was noted as a reason for her award, along with supporting the development of creative thinking, reasoning and independent problem-solving.

Two presentations were made for the Award for Tutors and Clinical or Professional Practice Supervisors.

Ms Baguley from the School of Psychology and Ms Venables from the School of Nursing, Midwifery and Social Work were highlighted as early-career educators with bright futures.

The awards event also provided a chance to acknowledge a number of other noteworthy achievements by HaBS Faculty members.

Dr Anne Hill of the School of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences and Ms Jacqueline Bond from the School of Pharmacy were receivers of the 2015 UQ Awards for Teaching Excellence.

Professor Kenneth Pakenham (School of Psychology) won the UQ citations for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning, while Dr Allison Mandrusiak (School of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences) secured a Universitas 21 Health Sciences Teaching Excellence Award.

In 2015 Dr Emma Finch (School of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences) was also awarded a grant for Training Students in Effective Communication Strategies via Tele Health.

In the audience for the HaBS Teaching and Learning Awards was the national champion UQ Health Fusion team.

The team consists of Joanna Standen, Michael Honnery, Nicole Atkinson, Elizabeth Coomer, Miriam Rizk and Brittany Martin, supervised by Dr Emma Beckman.