The Centre for Research in Telerehabilitation undertakes research and establishes the evidence base for telerehabilitation applications to improve access to services in the home for persons with communication disorders, physical disabilities and hearing impairments. The Centre is comprised of a multi-disciplinary team of researchers from the fields of audiology, occupational therapy, physiotherapy and speech pathology. 

The Centre’s established track record demonstrates a commitment to not only the traditional measures of academic success, but to the translation of research into practice and the creation, preservation, transfer and application of knowledge in the field of telerehabilitation. Research emerging from the Centre has had significant and wide-reaching impacts on the field of telerehabilitation in the allied health profession through industry publications, policy influence, research translation and the development of technologies such as the eHAB® video-conferencing system. 

The Centre and its research staff are nationally and internationally recognised for research in telerehabilitation in the allied health disciplines, receiving competitive grant funding totalling over $10 million.  Co-directors Professor Deborah Theodoros and Associate Professor Trevor Russell are leaders in telerehabilitation in their respective disciplines of speech pathology and physiotherapy.  

Centre staff

Professor Deborah Theodoros, Co-director
Professor Trevor Russell, Co-director
Professor Elizabeth Ward
Dr Allison Mandrusiak
Dr Kristy Nicola
Dr Tanya Rose
Dr Nerina Scarinci
Dr Anne Hill
Dr Carly Meyer
Stacey Park


Co-Director Professor Deborah Theodoros
Professor, Speech Pathology
P: +61 7 3365 2806

Co-Director Professor Trevor Russell
Professor, Physiotherapy
P: + 61 7 3366 9633