Clinical Education is a vital part of training the future healthcare workforce.  Experienced audiologists, occupational therapists, physiotherapists and speech pathologists provide an invaluable contribution to education by providing students with hands-on, patient-focused training in a healthcare setting.


Benefits

In addition to imparting skills, knowledge and best practice to students, clinical educators have the opportunity to obtain an academic title from The University of Queensland. This may assist career development and has many other associated benefits. Find out more about academic titles.

Support

Clinical educators are supported by a team of Clinical Education Liaison Managers (CELMs) and an administrative placements support team.  CELMs are available to:

  • assist in the development and provision of student placement opportunities
  • provide support to clinical educators and our students to optimise learning
  • arrange training and workshops for clinical educators to further their skills.

Education and training

Workshops are provided to new, existing and prospective clinical educators. Visit clinical education workshops for more information.

CEU eNews

The Clinical Educators Newsletter (CEU eNews) is produced three times a year and contains a range of information relevant to educators providing clinical placements to our students. Each edition includes updates and information including: 

  • Workshop registration details
  • Practical tips and strategies
  • Clinical education and research activity
  • Features on clinics
  • Staff spotlights

Sign up for CEU eNews View previous CEU eNews

Contact information for clinical educators

For more information for current or prospective clinical educators, please contact the most relevant CELM below.

Occupational therapy CELMs
Anne-Maree Caine | E: a.caine@uq.edu.au | Ph: (07) 3365 8206
Wendy Hood (Davila) | E: w.hood@uq.edu.au | Ph: (07) 3365 4518

Physiotherapy CELMs
Ruth Dunwoodie | E: r.dunwoodie@uq.edu.au | Ph: (07) 3365 2012
Andrea Patane | E: a.patane@uq.edu.au | Ph: (07) 3365 4508

Speech pathology and audiology CELMs
Lucy Hunter | E: l.hunter1@uq.edu.au | Ph: (07) 3365 3164
Daniella Cain | E: d.cain@uq.edu.au | Ph: (07) 3346 7463

Administration team (placements support)

We are located on Level 4, Seddon Central (building 82B), St Lucia campus.